Thanks for all your work today! I hope you enjoyed our Minute to Win It activity and working with QR Codes! Please click the "comment" button at the bottom of this post to leave your answer to the following reflection questions:

1.  What new ideas for using technology in the classroom did you learn today?

2.  If you have been using technology in your classroom this year, where do you feel that you are fitting in on the SAMR model?  Can you give an example of an activity where you were more in the "transforming" zone?  Can you think of an activity you would like to try next year with your students where you would be in the "transforming" zone?

3. Do you have any questions or topics that you would like to see addressed in tomorrow's session?
Jaimie
6/19/2013 07:14:37 am

1. What new ideas for using technology in the classroom did you learn today?

I really enjoyed the QR codes and all of the different uses you have for them. There are so many ideas I have now to use them for scavengar hunts, plus it is easier than me having to do it all by hand!

2. If you have been using technology in your classroom this year, where do you feel that you are fitting in on the SAMR model? Can you give an example of an activity where you were more in the "transforming" zone? Can you think of an activity you would like to try next year with your students where you would be in the "transforming" zone?

I'm most likely in the middle of the SAMR model. I try to use technology, but sometimes it doesn't work me or many times I just do not have enough time to fit it in with what I already have going. The only thing I can think of for me using technology is my students created book trailers this year, but that was still them using it instead of me, but with the new things I have learned seem like they will be useful.

3. Do you have any questions or topics that you would like to see addressed in tomorrow's session?

Sounds like were doing movies which I am really excited for!!!!

Reply
Cecile
6/19/2013 07:42:06 am

1. New learning - LInux won't let you drag and drop images in Chrome! !@#!@#
2. SAMR - I used Nearpod with my grade 8 Socials class this year with limited success. Next year I want to use Youtube with my info lit 8 class.

3. No questions

Reply
6/19/2013 07:42:22 am

Learned a lot of trial/error about QR codes and how to incorporate it into classroom activities. I think prior to this I was more at the modification stage, with teachers at my school closer to the augmentation stage. Redefinition would be more along the lines of having students create QR code scavenger hunts, which will allow them to learn/understand content at the same time as providing context for skills. Far more engaging than just having them follow along in someone else's scavenger hunt. Likely they would do one that was prepared for them, then they can create their own.

Reply
Tara
6/19/2013 07:44:29 am

1. Different ways to use QR codes in the classroom, making a fresh and fun way to deliver and explore materials
2. I haven't taught this year, and a lot has changed in such a short time, but last year I didn't use too much technology other than trying to put all my course materials online and powerpoint, but I have many ideas to change up projects using these web based apps and the new ipads that my school have purchased. Using google drive will allow us to share and help students who are struggling with traditional methods
3.very interested in video editing, I plan on doing it next year with my drama students and it will be very useful for socials as well

Reply
Michelle
6/19/2013 07:49:53 am

1. What new ideas for using technology in the classroom did you learn today?
I think that QR codes would be fun to use with the kids. In elementary school there are limitations with bandwidth and wifi but it is worth trying with the 2 iPads we have at school.

2. If you have been using technology in your classroom this year, where do you feel that you are fitting in on the SAMR model? Can you give an example of an activity where you were more in the "transforming" zone? Can you think of an activity you would like to try next year with your students where you would be in the "transforming" zone?

I did a project using Glogster. I think that it is at the Modification level of the SAMR scale. The interactive poster format helps the kids get involved and be creative with HOW they show their knowledge.

3. Do you have any questions or topics that you would like to see addressed in tomorrow's session? I am looking forward to making these videos. I plan on booking the cameras to work with students in the Fall.

Thanks for a great day!

Reply
Tracee
6/19/2013 07:50:15 am

1. What new ideas for using technology in the classroom did you learn today?
I had lots of fun making up the scavenger hunt and doing those of other groups. I am
thinking of ways to use QR codes in the library with our iPads.

2. If you have been using technology in your classroom this year, where do you feel that you are fitting in on the SAMR model? Can you give an example of an activity where you were more in the "transforming" zone? Can you think of an activity you would like to try next year with your students where you would be in the "transforming" zone?
I think I am moving up the scale but not fully into the transforming zone. We did
voicethreads for the kindies this year. I would like to take the webquest i created this year
and have more technology for the kids to use next year.

Reply
Krista Halland
6/19/2013 07:51:39 am

I have learned how to use the QR codes to add something new to my curriculum. The scavenger hunt was fun. I see so much potential for inquiry based learning.

I'm not sure I am too far on the samr model. I recognized a lot of the apps and have used a few but I'm really all over the map with usage and comfort.

I'm looking forward to tomorrow morning as
making videos or movies will be fun for the kids.

Reply
Distinguished Librarian
6/19/2013 01:56:49 pm

Obviously, I learned different ways to use QR Codes. I especially liked the idea Cecile and her group had in having "participants" take a picture of themselves following some of the instructions during their hunt. It's a fun way for students to "prove" they've understood and completed each task without always having to write something down.

I'd like to use the technology I've introduced the kids to these last two years and move from the enhancement stage to the transformation stage. I believe this will be more easily achieved by using mobile devices. Having a camera/video recorder at your fingertips, QR code readers that link you directly to websites, free Google apps to view, edit, enhance, and share work and ideas will be transforming.

I'm looking forward to learning more about YouTube tomorrow. Some parents will be reluctant to have their kids upload material to YouTube. I want to see how creative we can be using YouTube, while alleviating fears parents may have. I also want to see how we can use mobile devices to directly capture images, edit them, and upload them in a meaningful presentation that will show students' learning.

Reply



Leave a Reply.