I hope you enjoyed our second day today!  You did a fantastic job with the ASK /Beyond the Book work - I can't believe that you didn't stump Megan with your amazing, deep thinking questions!  Thanks for all your hard work these last two days.  It has been wonderful being partnered with y'all!

Please respond to the questions below by replying to this post:

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?

What is your powerful learning for today?

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?


Jaimie
6/18/2013 07:33:57 am

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?

I now know how to import pictures, ect in to my presentation through google. I have also learned how to use peanut gallery and ASK program. Very cool.

What is your powerful learning for today?

The idea of the ASK program. I believe this would be awesome to do with one of my classes because it gets them involved and you get to "leave" the classroom.

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?

The fact that we can do so many things that take us to broader areas within the classrooms to make learning fun and interesting. Really wish I got to do some of this stuff when I was in school. Like the idea of collaborating with other schools, people to make learning broader.

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?

Yes, yes, and yes!!!! Definately am going to try and use this next year in classroom and get another teacher in my school too!!

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 10:56:21 am

I'm so glad you're enjoying the learning that we're doing, Jaimie! It's great to have you as part of your group. Your storywriting was amazing, and your students are so lucky that you're open to trying out some of these new technologies with them next year. Let me know if you need any support once you start planning!

Reply
Tara Fairbrother
6/18/2013 07:35:18 am

I learning many new tools today, such as shortening a URL, using collaborations with other schools and resources to link your students with experiences, and how to use planbook for my planning next year.

My aha moment today was how I can use google docs and hangouts to link my students together in groups from school to school so they can work on projects together.

I was very down on having to teach 2 course vc next year, but now I am actually excited! I can't wait to use all this new technology with my students.

I loved the ask program, if I can make it work for my courses and school I am going to try and implement it.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 10:57:23 am

Tara, this is such great news! You made my day when you said that what you were learning is actually getting you excited about teaching a VC course next year! Thanks for all your energy and enthusiasm!

Reply
Kelly
6/18/2013 07:41:09 am

It was good to hear the trouble shooting / issues with the Peanut Gallery. I knew about it before but haven't had a chance to use it before.

My powerful learning: Jaimie is going to write a book some day.

I love love loved the Royal Tyrrell Museum presentation! I already sent the info to my 'non-tech' school and hopefully someone will want to work with them next year. Or I'll just force someone to do this....

I would definitely use the ASK. It seems to fit in well with inquiry thinking, going beyond the 'bird unit' type activities.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 10:59:30 am

Kelly - these are great comments! :-) Royal Tyrrell IS amazing, and I hope that you get someone to connect with them next year. You're right - sometimes you just have to book it and force them to try, and then everyone starts peeking their heads in, wondering what you're doing, and asking if they can sign up for the next one!

I'm glad you enjoyed ASK! It's such a terrific project for getting students to ask "stretchy" questions, which totally leads into Inquiry projects. Great connection!

Reply
Krista Halland
6/18/2013 07:41:48 am

I now know that video conferencing can provide opportunities to students and teachers, to enrich curriculum.

My powerful learning today was to learn more about google docs and how to do a google doc presentation while researching data to submit to the presentation.

I'm not sure that I am excited about video conferencing or if I am overwhelmed with how to be the go a go to person when I am so green with this technology. I appreciate your abilities and the approach to this learning as my learning style was met. I needed to be forced outside my comfort level and knowing that I'm not the only "green" student in the room.

I loved the ask beyond the book program and really think the students can benefit from this approach to learning. Meghan was an excellent tool as her knowledge base is amazing.

Thanks Tracy

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:02:33 am

Krista - you are doing AWESOME! I was so impressed to see you jumping in and working on your Google presentation and accessing the research tools to enhance your work! Great stuff! I know you think you're "green", but you actually have a lot more tech-savviness than you are giving yourself credit for!

Don't stress about being a "go-to" person. You have Nicole and myself to support you and the more you do, the more comfortable you'll get! Thanks for being an enthusiastic learner!

Reply
Annette Schatzman
6/18/2013 07:42:48 am

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?

What is your powerful learning for today?

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?
Knowing the different providers that can be accessed plus utilizing free conferences. It's also great to have Kamloops that we can have our students conference with them!


Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students? I enjoyed the experience very much! I would definitely try a similar type of activity with my students. I think it would be a great way for my students to learn about out places, school, and countries and learn about the people and students and activities they enjoy and participate in.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:04:32 am

Thanks for all your work, Annette! Our group mentioned how much they enjoyed working with you. It's so great to be able to collaborate with people in different countries, climates, cultures, etc. and to learn from/with each other. We hope we can connect with you again on a project!

Reply
Nicole G.
6/18/2013 07:43:18 am

1. This was the first time I did a presentation in Google and it was great. I have heard about the Peanut Gallery before but it was nice to see it in action. I have connected with the Royal Tyrell museum before but with it formatted as an ASK program gave me ideas of how it can be done.

2. My powerful learning I think has to go back to the power of Google tools and the significance of being able to share and work together on a document. When we have google apps for education then I can put this into action.

3. I have video conferenced a lot and love being able to connect with both content providers and classes for collaboration. It is a great hook for students to get them involved.

4.Yes, I enjoyed ASK. I haven't taken part in an ASK program before and will now consider taking that on.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:05:56 am

You were rockin' the Google stuff, girl! Now you can see why I love it so much, right? I can't wait for GAFE in our district either - such an amazing set of tools to help our students collaborate!

Glad you're working with me this week! Nice to have 4 whole days with you! :-)

Reply
Christey
6/18/2013 07:43:19 am

I appreciate this training for the breadth of what is shared with us as participants. Tracy and Ashton, thanks so much! A highlight from today's training was the collaboration with El Paso on the questions that we prepared for the content provider. It was incredible to see how collaborative a small group can be in two different cities, using the video-conference technology. During this process, I found out how Google Docs can be used, while also seeing our collaborators - more efficiently than using Google Docs alone. It would be exciting to try this out with a language class, to collaborate with classes around the world. The possibilities really do seem endless.

The ASK program would be incredible to do with language classes if we can find French speakers (or other languages) to video-conference with, in addition to presenters. What a great way to remove barriers and go beyond the classroom walls! This is truly what 21st Century Learning is all about.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:09:24 am

Yay! I'm so glad you enjoyed the 2 days, Christey! I definitely see the power in this type of learning for language classes - a natural fit to connect with other people in other parts of the world to learn from/with each other and practice speaking other languages! You're so right that this training models 21st Century Learning strategies. I love that I can do a little instruction, but then let you guys figure out the learning while I function more as a facilitator. The learning is so much more powerful when you have to "do" and internalize it, than if I stand at the front and present information to you all day.

Let me know if you need help supporting classes with VC next year. This would be "parfait" pour Great Explorations aussi, non?

Reply
Valerie
6/18/2013 07:43:26 am


What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?

How rewarding it is to have the ability to video confrence.

What is your powerful learning for today?
My powerful learning for today was when we learned about the dinosaurous. I retrieved alot of information during our session.

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?

Just the fact that we can all intereact with all kids of different people is so exciting.

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?

Yes i found it to be really rewarding. I would deffinately use this in the classroom.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:10:40 am

Valerie, it was wonderful working with you. Kamloops teachers are always so excited to connect with El Paso. You're right - it's amazing to be able to dial up and interact with people who are geographically so far away from us. It's pretty powerful technology!

Reply
Z
6/18/2013 07:44:11 am

Wow lots of great information today! All of the useful websites and ideas for lessons were awesome. I will be definitely be using the VC in my classroom. I will most likely use the free providers first until I get the hang of the equipment. Then maybe request a couple of paid ones. Everything was essential today but I truly enjoyed the the Remind101. I am going to have fun with that one!
Thank you so much for your time and patients. See you soon.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:12:26 am

Z - it was so nice to work with you! It sounds like Ashton was doing her usual amazing job of showing you tons of terrific tools! I'm so glad that you loved Remind 101 - our group was really excited about it too! I hope we can connect your class with a Kamloops class next year for a project - no cost to do classroom collaborations!

Reply
Annette Schatzman
6/18/2013 07:47:14 am

I missed two.

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?
Using other sites and the broad applications of using the video conferencing equipment Also, the different websites that were presented, such as Remind 101.

What is your powerful learning for today?
Using Google Hangout. It was definitely an amazing experience to be able to visually see and work with someone and work on a Google Document. It was terrific working with Kamloops and sharing ideas!

Reply
Hazel
6/18/2013 07:47:23 am

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?
I learned about creating presentations in Google, how to find content providers for video conferencing, Remind 101 (totally new to me!) and how much easier it all is than I expected.

What is your powerful learning for today?
I really like the ASK program. I'm looking forward to finding experts and having my students "travel" without leaving our library. Going Beyond the Book!

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students? I want my teachers to learn to use video conferencing and not be afraid to try something new. The rewards far outweigh the fear.

I want student to use technology to explore, learn and have AHA moments.


Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?
Yes...absolutely! Yes...I will! I promise!

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:14:01 am

Hazel, thanks for being such a great collaborator! I know our group really enjoyed working with you and I loved popping in and out of the room and listening to y'all discussing your project work. Great job on the story!

I'm so glad you enjoyed ASK! It's a great way to have student think deeply about a topic, formulate meaningful questions, and learn from an expert they may not usually have access to. Good stuff!

Reply
Hector Rodriguez
6/18/2013 07:48:55 am

I really enjoyed the interactive create presentation on the dino. I have m environmental class do jig saw activities for dittos but this is so much better. and the material would not be as limited. I really like Google form for my physics class for things like the ice breaker activities. I really learned many new things and am now aware now to get many others

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:16:41 am

Hi Hector! It was great to work with you this week! Isn't the Royal Tyrrell Museum amazing?! They are one of the best content providers I have worked with, and I'm so glad that they could be part of our sessions! I hope we can connect with you again!

Reply
Alma Garcia
6/18/2013 07:50:07 am

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?
I now know that I use "the Peanut Gallery" with my students if I want them to work on a small project were collaboration is required from each participants. Specially for those students who are afraid to speak in front of others.

What is your powerful learning for today?
I would have to say that the ASK program is a great tool to put in use with my students.

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?

Knowing that distances aren't a limitation for students/teachers to interact with others across the world. This VC is an awesome way to get students involved and ready to speak in public (somewhat).

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?

Yes, I sure look forward to use this in my classroom. I will most definitely need to play around with it well before I implement it with my students.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:15:28 am

Thanks for working with us this week, Alma! Isn't it exciting that geography is not a limiting factor for collaboration in this day and age?! We are so lucky to have access to these terrific technologies that let us learn from/with others around the globe. I hope that you will consider partnering your class with a group in Kamloops for a project next year!

Reply
Linda B
6/18/2013 07:50:29 am

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?
Navigating through the different sites was exciting, still rusty but I will practice more.

What is your powerful learning for today?
All, but I really enjoy the life conferencing, they already e-mail me wanting to partner with the Spanish teacher there wonderful!

What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?
I invited some colleges but they did not seem interested, so it is up to me to bring new ideas for of us to use!
Te of activity with your own students?
Resource site just like the Dino activity is wonderful even if we do not have the funds to do videoconferencing, thank you. I also want to do the Blog with them to reflect on lesson given that day, video my lesson for students that missed class do to an excuse missed day such as being in a hospital, ISS etc. so they can follow along with everybody else. No excuses for not being in class and not being prepared for the test.
Thank you so much for everything!

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:18:28 am

Linda, I hope you can connect with our Kamloops teachers for a project next year. I'm so glad they've contacted you already! Our Spanish teachers would be so excited to partner with you! :-)

Reply
Albert Briones
6/18/2013 07:51:56 am

1.There is a whole bunch of information,tools and resources available to us.
2.Very informative
3.Really enjoyed the the museum tour with Megan.
4. How much the kids will enjoy working with other students
5.Very helpful for kids to do research

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:19:31 am

It was great working with you, Albert! I'm glad that you found all the resources useful and informative. I know that Ashton does a fantastic job of sharing all sorts of tools and tips with her groups. It was great to connect with you, and I hope that you will contact us to do a project together next year!

Reply
Kelly Higgins
6/18/2013 08:02:28 am

What do you know now that you did not know when you began this class yesterday morning?
I now have an idea how I can use Peanut Gallery with students. I also learned a lot about Google Docs. I had limited experience with Google Docs before this.
Loved all the different websites you shared. I will try to add at least a few of these to my tool box.

What is your powerful learning for today?
I think that the connection with the Todays Meet was really helpful and I will try to intergerate that with my next VC.


What excites you about using videoconferencing with your staff and students?
I'm hoping to do more this coming school year hooking up just between schools -- not always through a content provider. I think we can do so many creative things with the students.

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?
I think that this would be a great tool for our 5th graders to maybe connect for social studies or science classes. Our teachers don't have a chance to do much soc. st. I think that we can use this to do some team building with the grade level.

Reply
Tracy
6/18/2013 11:21:45 am

Hi Kelly,

Isn't it amazing all the free tools that are out there for us to use?! I keep telling my participants, "You don't know what you don't know!". It's great to have time in an event like Jazz Bootcamp to share some new tools so that you know what is out there and can play around with it to learn a bit more!

I hope you consider connecting your students to a classroom or two in Kamloops next year. Let me know if you are looking for a partner class and I will do my best to find a match for you! I know lots of 5th grade teachers who would be happy to connect!

Reply
Tracee
6/19/2013 07:52:38 am

What is your powerful learning for today?

I was doing a bit of work with the google plus today. I do not do facebook, but would be
inclined to use google plus. I will have to play on it more.

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?

I thought ASK is fantastic. As we live in a small city and do not have access to many
museums and zoos. I have done a visit with a bat expert and the kids loved it. I can see
using the Beyond the Book ideas with Read Around the Planet.

Reply



Leave a Reply.