Picture
Thank you all for a great day. Tracy and I hope you have embraced the wonderful world of video conferencing and realize VC is a tool that will break down the walls of your school and allow you and your students to interact and collaborate with individuals around the world. Please take a few minutes to reflect on the day and respond to the follow questions. 





What was the most challenging part of the day for you and why?

Why would teaching content to your students using some of the tools we used to day help create students with 21st century skills?

How do you feel about working with people that you have not met face-to-face (in real life)?



What excited you about using video conferencing with your staff and students? 



Hector Rodriguez
6/17/2013 07:10:54 am

i had many tech problems, but like how we were kept on task. I enjoyed the interactive writing activity. I enjoyed the give and take involved in the activity

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:10:47 am

Don't worry, Hector! I think we worked out all the tech glitches (there are always some the first day) and tomorrow will be smooth sailing. I'm glad you are enjoying the activity. It is great to be working with y'all!

Reply
Ashton Graham
6/17/2013 12:34:28 pm

Hector, Thank you so much for coming to VC Bootcamp. I know the technology can be a bit overwhelming at times....but hang in there! The beauty of working with different technology tools is to find the ones that work for you and run with them! Learn a few tools (google docs, todaysmeet, remind101) that work for you and then slowly add a few more!

Reply
Annette Schatzman
6/17/2013 07:11:08 am

What was the most challenging part of the day for you and why? Using Google hangout. Haven't used it before, like to be able to see how it works. We got it to work well for our collaboration project. I'm looking forward to using it more.

Why would teaching content to your students using some of the tools we used to day help create students with 21st century skills?
I have done video conferences with my students, I'm looking forward to working with other teachers or teacher-librarians to do classes together. I've used Google Docs before - I really like the idea of using Google Docs with Peanut Gallery to collaborate on scripts.

How do you feel about working with people that you have not met face-to-face (in real life)?
I think it's exciting to learn about people and different places. I had a great time working with our group in Canada and learning some new things!

What excited you about using video conferencing with your staff and students?
How much they enjoyed the video conference and ask for more! Teachers have told me that they didn't know what to expect and they also want to have more of them. My goal is to get the teachers to collaborate with other teachers to set up their own video conferences.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:12:27 am

I think all the Hangout bugs were worked out - it should be much smoother tomorrow. It's a great tool once you get going with it, and I love how you can screen share your document and still see each other to talk to each other. It's so great that you're promoting VC in your school. If you're looking for any partner classes, please keep Kamloops in mind!

Reply
Ashton
6/17/2013 12:42:33 pm

Annette: You have been a shining star promoting VC on your campus! Yes, I know you want to teachers to set up their own video conferences etc...in my experience it usually takes a few years of modeling good practices on the campus along with loads of hand holding before the teachers feel comfortable doing it all on their own. I know from the crazy schedules, insane amount of testing etc..that it HELPS immensely to have a person on campus that helps promote and COORDINATE video conferences. Coordinating the test call, time of the event etc., - it really really helps to have a VC cart manager that assists the teacher with this. The campuses that have a cart manager like yourself are the ones that really understand how VC breaks down the walls!
As you have enjoyed working with your group in Canada - its that type of collaboration that your teachers should experience - think of ways you can share "growing" their professional development.

Reply
Linda Bordier
6/17/2013 07:12:54 am

Most challenging I do not know how to use picassa. I want to start using this tech for 21st century with my students ans Spanish speaking classrooms around the world in the first 9 weeks of instruction. Its like be immerse in the content lesson by practicing with native speakers around the world.
I feel comfortable sharing with other people around the world, that's awesome!
I am excited to share with my coworkers

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:09:52 am

This is great to hear, Linda! If you are looking for partners for Spanish videoconferencing, keep Kamloops in mind. We have a number of teachers who are instructing high school Spanish classes that would love to connect with you!

Reply
Ashton
6/17/2013 09:55:56 pm

Linda: If you want Spanish Classes to connect - please let me help. I have contacts all over the place. CapSpace is also a great resource to find partners to connect with from Spanish Speaking countries. Remember you can also connect thru Skype and video conference and that will open up even more choices! You will only be limited by time zones.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/17/2013 07:13:14 am

The most challenging part of the day was trying to get all of us connected with the others in Canada.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/17/2013 07:24:43 am

Teaching to my students in the content of Business Education would be a challenging event but it would be very helpful to be able to connect to different businesses locally and throughout different parts of the world in order to show them why it is important to be as efficient as possible

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:14:10 am

Wouldn't it be awesome to connect students to do some projects about financial planning, trade agreements from different countries, stock exchange stuff, market research, etc? I think there are lots of ways you could use this technology with your Business Ed. students! :-)

Ashton Graham
6/17/2013 10:00:49 pm

Thanks Tammy for your comments. Video Conferencing is a great tool to bring business people into your classroom - most likely Skype or Google Hangouts is the best way to approach connecting with them. It takes time to build up that circle of business folks you can call on etc...but it will be well worth it for your students. I have found that people in general are very receptive to communicating with students - it just takes time on your part to find the people - and writing emails/calling them. I am happy to help guide you.

Hazel Lundeen
6/17/2013 07:14:08 am

What was the most challenging part of the day for you and why?
The most difficult part was knowing what button to push on the remote to look professional.


Why would teaching content to your students using some of the tools we used to day help create students with 21st century skills?
It teaches them that there is more than one way and one answer to problems that they will face in life. It opens up their options for problem solving and makes learning relevant to their situations and learning styles.


How do you feel about working with people that you have not met face-to-face (in real life)? I really enjoy it. I like learning from others who are in my profession from different parts of the United States or even the world.


What excited you about using video conferencing with your staff and students? The VC you can do with students and staff is overwhelming. There's a wide world out there for everyone to explore.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:15:49 am

Hazel, you will be a pro with the remote by the end of tomorrow! :-)

Isn't it amazing all the opportunities that this technology allows us for our students? When I was in school, this wasn't even a possibility. Now we can connect all over the world with a click of a button. It gives me goosebumps everytime we connect with someone!

Reply
Ashton Graham
6/17/2013 10:05:17 pm

Hazel, I am so glad you are here. You will be a pro with the remote in 10 mins! The technical part (the remote) is the easiest part -
The resources can seem overwhelming but we've tried to narrow down the "best" or "gold nuggets" we want you to take away. The opportunities to connect are endless but its grabbing ahold of a few and saying I am going to do these this year and then next year I will try a few more the year after that. Remember you can take baby steps and even just connect within the district to do a cheer exchange - don't let the technology overwhelm you - embrace it!

Reply
Z
6/17/2013 07:14:34 am

My favorite part was the flat Stanley videos it was cute to see what everyone did. I enjoyed the collaboration since I am more of a hands on learner. Although it seemed to be the most challenging, I didn't feel we were prepared for Google. I most of all enjoyed the up-beat, informative, good nature of our presenter, Ashton, Thank you.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:17:26 am

Ashton is the best! :-)

I loved the "Flat Stanley" - type videos as well. I wish we had longer to look at all the pictures! It looked like our Mountie Man was having a lot of fun in El Paso.

One reason I love Jazz is that it is hands-on and not "sit and get" professional development. I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying it!

Reply
Ashton
6/17/2013 10:10:43 pm

Z: I am glad you are here. And yes, I should of spend more time training google docs before the group work but the morning just got away from me with everything we need to cover. I love google docs and the possibilities are endless of what you can do - and now there is google hangouts and you can video conference! I will spend more time on google this morning. And with learning do not hesitate google something like video on how to use google docs

Reply
ASHTON
6/17/2013 10:20:45 pm

I should of SPENT more time training google docs

6/17/2013 07:15:24 am

1.Maneuvering websites
2.The wave of the future
3. Interesting to hear different opinions
4.Learning new techniques to teach

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:18:21 am

Hi Albert. I'm interested in your comment about learning new techniques to teach. What was your favourite today, and how do you see yourself using it in your classroom next year?

Reply
Ashton
6/17/2013 10:18:53 pm

Hi Albert: I am with Tracy - I want to hear more about your comments and the new techniques to teach takeaways.

Reply
Kelly Higgins
6/17/2013 07:17:11 am

The hard part was the time - so much to do. Some of us were not familiar with using the websites or using a MAC. Good thing we are all in this together.

I think it is wonderful to work with others outside our local area. I've already formed working friendships with the VC. You can never have too many friends! :-)

I've already seen the power of how students react with seeing others in a setting. It is awesome to see how excited they get. It is great to know that you have connections all over the world!

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:19:53 am

Great comment! I was saying the same thing at the end of the day... not enough time! It's important to remember that we would always take WAY longer to do these projects with our students. Jazz just gets us to do a "time-warped" version to give us a little taste of what it could be like. There is so much to explore, and so little time! I'm glad you're enjoying it!

Reply
Ashton
6/17/2013 10:25:37 pm

Hello Kelly: Tracy is exactly right - you really are receiving a condensed version of different types of video conferences. I have found with technology its practice, practice, practice and the more you do it the more familiar and at ease you become. The Flat Stanley project of using picassa web/and using the pics to make a You Tube video was new for me too and now with a little practice you could replicate the project. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need help on anything.

Reply
Alma Garcia
6/17/2013 07:23:00 am

The most challenging part of the day for me took place in the afternoon when we were to work in small groups. Getting logged on to google hangouts was interesting but once we were able to log on, we were all good!!!

Teaching our students some of the tools learned today would enable our students to navigate the various locations to create presentations tailored by them instead a pre-arrangement. This teaching would help those selected few who are afraid of change to take step by step and then be able to create great things.

I'm not a person who really likes to work with unknown people but since our technology world is changing by the minute, this interaction of being able to chat, work with people in diverse places, it has become something of an interest to me. It has been a scary feeling but I think that its important to keep up with technology if we are to teach/instruct our students.

Since I haven't experienced the interaction of using video conferencing with my students, I think that it will be a great thing for students to make connection with a voice and a face when holding a video conference.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:22:25 am

Google Hangouts are great - but they can be tricky to figure out the first time you try to use them. Thanks to your group for persevering - I think it will be smooth sailing tomorrow!

It's great that you are excited about integrating these technologies into your teaching. Your students are lucky that you are open to trying it out and using it with them! It was great working with you today!

Reply
Ashton Graham
6/17/2013 11:42:45 pm

Alma, Thanks for your patience with Google Hangouts! I am thrilled that you see the value in the tools we used today and how they can help your students be creative. I find it interesting to work with people in different places because of all the things I've learned from them - its opened up a whole new world for me and I am glad to hear you are becoming interested in it. Wait until you see how your students react to video conferencing and you will definitely be hooked on the technology.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/17/2013 07:23:26 am

Teaching to my students in the content of Business Education would be a challenging event but it would be very helpful to be able to connect to different businesses locally and throughout different parts of the world in order to show them why it is important to be as efficient as possible.

Reply
Ashton Graham
6/18/2013 12:24:09 am

Tammy, I am excited that you see the value in video conferencing and how you can use it to broaden your students horizons. People are very receptive to helping others but it does take time to reach out and find those "business" folks that can help. You may also want to familiarize yourself with Skype or google hangouts in order to VC with business leaders.

Reply
Cecile McVittie
6/17/2013 07:59:26 am

Most challenging part of the day? Using Google Hangout - not as intuitive as the last time I used it (for planning a family celebration). It took forever to sort out how to get connected - 10 minutes :)

Using these tools with students? Absolutely, using the collaborative power of Google Docs and some form of video f2f connection makes learning exciting and powerful. Students who are engaged in solving real problems (as pointed out by Nicole from GNG) is what we want to develop in our students.

How do I feel about working with people I’ve never met in a video conference setting? I love working this way! It’s a great way to meet people and realize that even though we may share some things, everyone views things differently. It’s always eye-opening and humbling.

What excited (or excites) you about working with vidconferencing with staff and students?
I love the potentiality of this technology. It doesn’t always work and people are still pretty nervous, but students absolutely love it and learn so much. My best experience was a tour of Bamfield Marine facility and having a live diver showing us various creatures and talking with us. The students had so many questions and would never get to experience this in real time unless they were divers themselves.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:25:10 am

Great comments, Cecile! I hope you are able to connect some of your classes with GNG next year - they have some terrific topics for discussion and I think that you would lead your students through some pretty amazing learning. You are great at teaching these thought-provoking topics!

Thanks for persevering with the hangouts! Technology is usually tricky the first day, and then we work out all the bugs so things run more smoothly on day 2. I'm looking forward to seeing your guys' Peanut Gallery movie!

Reply
Ashton Graham
6/17/2013 11:50:25 pm

Great comments Cecile!! Yes, Google Hangouts has changed...and I am smiling with your comment it took "10 mins" to figure out! It reminds me of a funny video I used to show in my trainings - about how we expect things to happen so quickly. I am thrilled that you will be using google docs with your students - how exciting!! Thanks for attending the training. We love Kamloops here in El Paso even if our Amigo Man may have to "dry out" when gets home!

Reply
Krista Halland
6/17/2013 07:59:34 am

The most challenging part of the day is getting comfortable with the technology as I am still very "green".

Video conferencing opens up opportunities for students to see "outside" their neighbourhood. Broaden their experiences!

I'm always hesitant when working with new people in new situations as I am unsure if I will be able to keep up with all the new skills being presented.

I am excited to work with video conferencing as a tool, in our school. The students will love working with this tool.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:27:32 am

Krista, you did great! I hope that you feel good about the new learning that you did today. It's a LOT to pack into a day, but you kept up like a trooper! Don't forget that I am in my role to support you. You don't have to be an expert at everything we cover during Jazz by the time we're finished. It's all about exposing you to new tools and strategies, and then when you want to try them out with students in the fall I will be there to help if you call! You are also lucky to have an amazing teacher-librarian at your school to give you a hand as well. We've got your back!

Reply
Ashton Graham
6/18/2013 12:18:59 am

Krista: We packed alot in for today - usually our Jazz VC workshop is four days - but b/c of scheduling Tracy and I could only do two days - some of my participants were overwhelmed with so much technology but as time progresses and you practice with the technologies it will become second nature. VC really does break down the four walls of the school and broadens your students horizons. Thanks for coming to training.

Reply
Kelly
6/17/2013 08:01:31 am

I found creating the slideshow on YouTube wasn't as user friendly as I've come to expect google applications. Why did it turn pictures on an angle in the finished project when they were fine when putting it together.
I can't wait to get all the students on Google Drive in the fall!
The only difficulty with working with people not face-to-face is when I wanted to help them and we had to hold screens up to the VC camera.
I would love to use VC if the picture was always as clear as it was today....

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:30:01 am

It was weird that the pics turned sideways, but isn't it amazing that everyone could email their photos in to a drop box and then you could create a slideshow by just clicking a couple buttons? I am always amazed by the sheer number of things we can do with FREE tools and a $250 device. We live in pretty awesome times!

I am looking forward to getting all the students on Google Drive in the fall too! Yay for GAFE!

Reply
Ashton
6/18/2013 12:32:46 am

Hello Kelly: We loved the Amigo Man slide show!! I realize YouTube was not all that friendly but really think about the magnitude of what we did -took pictures on our phone, uploaded them to a picassa and made video all for free! Pretty exciting! We'll get thru the glitches. Yes, working from a distance does create some issues but I promise the more you do it the easier it becomes - its just getting over those initial hurdles!

Reply
Nicole
6/17/2013 08:03:21 am

1. I had a really hard time with the story writing. I have learned that I am a person who needs to re-read over and over in my own space to be able to write. I couldn't keep up with all of the awesome, speed demon authors! :)

Kelly and I also had a hard time adding music to our Amigo Man video and editing the time for each frame after we had published it once.

2.They will be able to take what we have done as projects in class and use it in the future for school, work etc. These are almost life skills for them now.

3.Love working with people across VC, Skype..... it allows us to meet people we may never have a chance to meet otherwise.

4. Content providers is what started out the excitement for us. Now we love connecting with other classes and doing group projects.

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:33:15 am

You guys rocked the Amigo Man slideshow. Based on the fact that you only just tried that tool for the first time this morning, I think you did a fantastic job! We are on such a fast-paced roller coaster during Jazz that it is hard to troubleshoot and figure out how to go back, edit, etc. as we just don't have the play time. It's all about exposure and knowing what tools are there to play with and what they will do when we have the time to sit down and figure them out a little better.

I totally agree with your comment about these being "life skills" for today's students. It's so important that we allow them to play with many tools and learn to demonstrate learning in a multitude of ways!

Reply
Ashton
6/18/2013 12:14:57 am

Nicole: The Amigo Man Slide Show ROCKED!! I think it was amazing to see both groups utilize a tool that neither had used before and create a slide show "on the fly" -- I hope you will take time to play with it more so you feel comfortable doing it with your class. Thanks for connecting with us today!

Reply
Jaimie Loader
6/17/2013 08:03:34 am

What was the most challenging part of the day for you and why?

The most challenging part of the day for me was when we did the group work and hard to work everything out before we got started. We had a screen barrier between us so we could only help with problems verbally, not physically.

Why would teaching content to your students using some of the tools we used to day help create students with 21st century skills?

Students today are already in the 21st century and have grown up immersed in it, so why would we teach them in different forms that they are not used to. Teaching them with what they are used to (screens constantly in their face) is a concept they know and it should make the learning curve a little easier for them.

How do you feel about working with people that you have not met face-to-face (in real life)?

I really enjoyed working with people I had never met before because it makes me leave my comfort zone and actually get out there and put myself in tougher situations. Sometimes we get too complacent and relaxed in our comfort zones and never grow, this way you get flung out there!


What excited you about using video conferencing with your staff and students?

I found today quite exhilarating because it got me thinking about all of the ways I can incorporate these lessons in to my class and teach my staff and students all the new techniques that we can now use in our school to make learning more interactive and fun!

Reply
Tracy Poelzer
6/17/2013 09:35:55 am

I'm so glad you found the day useful, Jaimie! I agree with your comments about the "screens in their face". If you can't beat 'em, you may as well join 'em! Why fight technology when we can find ways to harness it to engage our students more fully in their learning?! :-)

It was great to have you as part of our group! I'm hoping that you have lots of "take-aways" from the week! Don't forget that I am here to give you a hand next year when you want to try any of this stuff out with your students!

Reply
Ashton
6/17/2013 11:55:36 pm

Hi Jaime: I am going to adopt - "screens in their face" for future trainings - its sooo true and we need to adapt and engage our students in ways they can relate. I am glad we made you leave your comfort zone - I have found sometimes the best things that happen in life are when we leave our comfort zone!

Reply
Tracee
6/18/2013 12:22:40 am

What was the most challenging part of the day for you and why?
Keeping up with the new technology. It changes so quickly. There were many new
tools for us to try today.
Why would teaching content to your students using some of the tools we used to day help create students with 21st century skills?
Students can transfer the tools between disciplines. As well, students may be
drawn into the content because of the technology aspect. It increases the
possibilities for style of presentation, allowing for creativity and hopefully better
output from students.
What excited you about using video conferencing with your staff and students?
Our schools are quite insular and often homogenous here in Kamloops. It is great
to be able to converse with other schools who may look and sound different but
are really very similar to us in their thoughts and dreams.

Reply
Ashton
6/18/2013 12:27:51 am

Technology does engage students and allow for creativity - also when students have to share their work with others in a video conference studies have shown that they will work harder and produce better products. We love conversing with teachers in Kamloops - and look forward to keeping the dialogue and video conferences going throughout the year!

Reply
Cecile McVittie
6/18/2013 07:41:21 am

Today was lots of fun! I really enjoyed the ASK/Royal Tyrrell connection. Someone in my group was laughing at me because I was getting so excited about writing questions, but that's truly the heart of being a teacher - being an excited learner!
What I know now is that Google Hangouts could be really cool for sharing desktops and chatting. I hope Google decides to keep it in the suite of products for schools!
My powerful learning today was how similarly we think as teachers, even when we're not connected. I found it amazing that we were talking about the same things after we separated to look at the Peanut Gallery clip.
What excites me about using VC is the possibility of using this with Grade 8 social studies!
Thanks Tracy & Ashton! It was a great 2 days!

Reply
Valerie
6/18/2013 07:47:46 am

What was the most challenging part of the day for you and why?
I didn't have my laptop so that was annoying. Then just learning to log on properly.

Why would teaching content to your students using some of the tools we used to day help create students with 21st century skills?
It might become the norm in the near future.

How do you feel about working with people that you have not met face-to-face (in real life)?
I have no problem with meeting new people. It's a really awesome experience.


What excited you about using video conferencing with your staff and students?
The fact that it's something different for us to do. I think the kids will embrace this kind of lesson because it's different and out of their norm.

Reply
Tracee
6/18/2013 07:50:30 am

What is your powerful learning for today?

I was doing a bit of work with the google plus today. I do not do facebook, but would be
inclined to use google plus. I will have to play on it more.

Did you enjoy the ASK / Beyond the Book program? Do you think you would try a similar type of activity with your own students?

I thought ASK is fantastic. As we live in a small city and do not have access to many
museums and zoos. I have done a visit with a bat expert and the kids loved it. I can see
using the Beyond the Book ideas with Read Around the Planet.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/18/2013 07:54:11 am

1: I know a lot more now then I did when I first came in here. I will be using everything I have learned as much as I can.

2. My powerful learning for this class was learning how to connect and work together with others without being in the same room.

3. The major thing that excites me about using this in my classroom is that I want to set up a program/video with other businesses throughout the world without really leaving my classroom.

4. I really enjoyed the ASK and will defiantly use this with my students. I will need to study on it more, but that is what learning is about.

Thank you so much for all that everyone did to put this class together.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/18/2013 07:54:30 am

1: I know a lot more now then I did when I first came in here. I will be using everything I have learned as much as I can.

2. My powerful learning for this class was learning how to connect and work together with others without being in the same room.

3. The major thing that excites me about using this in my classroom is that I want to set up a program/video with other businesses throughout the world without really leaving my classroom.

4. I really enjoyed the ASK and will defiantly use this with my students. I will need to study on it more, but that is what learning is about.

Thank you so much for all that everyone did to put this class together.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/18/2013 07:54:52 am

1: I know a lot more now then I did when I first came in here. I will be using everything I have learned as much as I can.

2. My powerful learning for this class was learning how to connect and work together with others without being in the same room.

3. The major thing that excites me about using this in my classroom is that I want to set up a program/video with other businesses throughout the world without really leaving my classroom.

4. I really enjoyed the ASK and will defiantly use this with my students. I will need to study on it more, but that is what learning is about.

Thank you so much for all that everyone did to put this class together.

Reply
Tammy Avent
6/18/2013 07:59:59 am

1: I know a lot more now then I did when I first came in here. I will be using everything I have learned as much as I can.

2. My powerful learning for this class was learning how to connect and work together with others without being in the same room.

3. The major thing that excites me about using this in my classroom is that I want to set up a program/video with other businesses throughout the world without really leaving my classroom.

4. I really enjoyed the ASK and will defiantly use this with my students. I will need to study on it more, but that is what learning is about.

Thank you so much for all that everyone did to put this class together.

Reply



Leave a Reply.